Skip to Main Content

The BIG Sale!  Sign Up

Understanding Pattern Skill Levels

knit icon knit

Our patterns follow the the Craft Yarn Council (CYC) guidelines for skill levels for both knit and crochet. Our patterns use these skill levels to help knitters and crocheters determine if a pattern is appropriate for their level of expertise.

The skill levels are intended as a helpful guide. Do not be afraid to try a pattern in a harder skill level than you have attempted previously.

Skill levels are shown by filling in a four-section bar, and labeling it according to how many sections are filled in.


Understanding Pattern Skill Levels

Projects for first-time stitchers using basic stitches for crocheters and knit and purl stitches for knitters. Minimal shaping.

Beginner crochet patterns and beginner knit patterns


Understanding Pattern Skill Levels

Projects using basic stitches, repetitive stitch patterns, simple color changes, and simple shaping and finishing.

Easy crochet patterns and Easy knit patterns


Understanding Pattern Skill Levels

Projects with a variety of stitches and techniques such as basic lace patterns, mid-level shaping and finishing. Crochet patterns will also include basic color patterns. Knitting patterns will also include basic cables, simple intarsia, double-pointed needles and knitting in the round.

Intermediate crochet patterns and intermediate knit patterns


Understanding Pattern Skill Levels

Projects using advanced techniques and stitches including detailed shaping and refined finishing. Crochet patterns will include intricate stitch patterns, techniques and dimensions including non-repeating patterns, multi-color techniques, fine threads, and small hooks. Knitting patterns will include short rows, Fair Isle, more intricate intarsia, cables, lace patterns, and numerous color changes.

Experienced crochet patterns and Experienced knit patterns